Goodbye Google+

In December 2018,Google announced the decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations.

On 2 April, Google+ accounts and any Google+ pages will be shut down and Google begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ Album Archives and on Google+ pages will also be deleted.

The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ pages and Album Archives will take a few months, and content may remain during this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.

From as early as 4 February, you’ll no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events.

If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting in early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body and photos for every community post in a public community.

If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons.

If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by 4 February and other sites by 7 March. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting on 2 April 2019.

If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon.

The Google+ team would like to thank users for making Google+ such a special place. We’re grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It wouldn’t have been the same without your passion and dedication.

HELP AND FURTHER INFORMATION.

Downloading and Saving Content and Images
Make sure that you do this before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos won’t be deleted.

FAQs
Details and updates leading up to the shutdown.